Collingswood Expands Shared Services in 7-Town Agreement

The communities will begin by sharing code officials and public works vehicles, with plans to deepen the collaboration in the future.

Municipal government in the 2-percent cap world continues to take a page from some of the basic rules of preschool: play nicely, take turns and share, share, share.

Seven Camden County towns—Audubon, Collingswood, Haddonfield, Haddon Heights, Haddon Township, Mount Ephraim and Oaklyn—are working to more closely coordinate their resources under broader .

The neighboring communities will kick things off Tuesday with the formal signing of an agreement to share a construction code official on an emergency basis. Thereafter, each municipal leader will draft interlocal shared-service resolutions to be approved at the monthly meetings of their respective governing bodies.

One of the first areas the group will examine is ways to share construction equipment and public works vehicles, thereby cutting back on capital equipment purchases and maintenance costs.

In a statement issued by , Mayor James Maley said the program "can start to see a significant savings" with additional planning.

“It became clear that many of our needs were overlapping and it made sense to work together to reduce our costs," Maley said.

Many Camden County communities already unofficially share certain services, including those for municipal courts, fire service and .

Peeches September 02, 2012 at 05:10 PM
What is an Emergency for a Construction Code Official?


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »